About EC Section Banner
About Us
The Education Commission (EC) was set up in 1984 as a non-statutory body appointed by the Chief Executive, advises the Secretary for Education on overall educational objectives and policies and the priorities in implementing its recommendations.

The commission includes in its membership the chairpersons of nine key committees: the Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals, the Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education, the Curriculum Development Council, the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council, the Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, the Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, the University Grants Committee, the Vocational Training Council and the Committee on Home-School Co-operation.