The Government today (December 23) announced the appointment of two members to the Education Commission (EC).


The newly appointed members are the Chairman of the Committee on Home-School Co-operation, Mr Eugene Fong Yick-jin, and the Chairman of the Hong Kong Subsidized Secondary Schools Council, Mr Lau Chun-hung.


The two members have been appointed in their personal capacity for a two-year term with effect from January 1, 2021.


An Education Bureau spokesman said, “Given their rich experience in the education and professional sectors, we are confident that they will provide valuable advice and contribute to the work of the EC.”


The spokesman also thanked the outgoing members, Dr Halina Poon Suk-han and Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai, for their valuable contributions to the work of the EC.



The new EC membership list, effective from January 1, 2021, is as follows:




Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung



Ex-officio members


Permanent Secretary for Education, Ms Michelle Li Mei-sheung

Chairman, Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals, Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming

Chairman, Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education, Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung

Chairman, Curriculum Development Council, Professor Tam Kar-yan

Chairman, Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council, Dr Samuel Yung Wing-ki

Chairman, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on

Chairman, Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, Mr Lester Garson Huang

Chairman, University Grants Committee, Mr Carlson Tong

Chairman, Vocational Training Council, Mr Tony Tai Chark-tong



Non-official members


Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau

Mr Eugene Fong Yick-jin

Dr Fung Wai-wah

Ms Nancy Ho Lan-sang

Mr Lau Chun-hung

Dr Leung Wing-hung

Mr Joseph Luc Ngai

Ms Vu Im-fan

Mr Wong Kam-leung

Mr Dieter Yih Lai-tak


Note: Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming is also one of the non-official members.


Ends/Wednesday, December 23, 2020

Issued at HKT 15:00