The Government today (December 27) announced the appointment of two members to the Education Commission (EC).


The newly appointed members are the Chairman of the Hong Kong Special Schools Council, Dr Leung Wing-hung, and the Chairman of the Subsidised Primary Schools Council, Ms Vu Im-fan.


The two members have been appointed in their personal capacity for a two-year term, which will take effect on January 1, 2020.


An Education Bureau spokesman said, “Given their rich experience in the education sector, we are confident that these two members will provide valuable advice and contribute to the work of the EC.”


The spokesman also thanked the outgoing member, Mr So Ping-fai, for his valuable contribution to the work of the EC.



The new EC membership list, effective from January 1, 2020, is as follows:




Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung


Ex-officio members


Permanent Secretary for Education, Mrs Ingrid Yeung Ho Poi-yan

Chairman, Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals, Dr Carrie Willis

Chairman, Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education, Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung

Chairman, Curriculum Development Council, Professor Tam Kar-yan

Chairman, Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council, Dr Samuel Yung Wing-ki

Chairman, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on

Chairman, Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, Mr Lester Garson Huang

Chairman, University Grants Committee, Mr Carlson Tong

Chairman, Vocational Training Council, Mr Tony Tai Chark-tong


Non-official members


Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau

Dr Fung Wai-wah

Ms Nancy Ho Lan-sang

Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming

Dr Leung Wing-hung

Mr Joseph Luc Ngai

Dr Halina Poon Suk-han

Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai

Ms Vu Im-fan

Mr Wong Kam-leung

Mr Dieter Yih Lai-tak


Ends/Friday, December 27, 2019

Issued at HKT 15:00