The Government today (June 28) announced the appointment of four members to the Education Commission (EC).


The newly appointed EC member is the Managing Partner, Greater China of McKinsey & Company, Mr Joseph Luc Ngai. Three incumbent members, Ms Nancy Ho Lan-sang, Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming and Mr Wong Kam-leung, have been re-appointed.


The four members have been appointed in their personal capacity for a two-year term, which will take effect on July 1, 2019.


An Education Bureau spokesman said, “Given their rich experience in the education and professional sectors, we are confident that the four members will provide valuable advice and contribute to the work of the EC.”


The spokesman also thanked the outgoing member, Dr Odalia Wong Ming-hung, for her valuable contributions to the work of the EC.



The new EC membership list with effect from July 1, 2019, is as follows:




Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung


Ex-officio members


Permanent Secretary for Education, Mrs Ingrid Yeung Ho Poi-yan

Chairman, Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals, Dr Carrie Willis

Chairman, Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education, Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung

Chairman, Curriculum Development Council, Professor Tam Kar-yan

Chairman, Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council, Dr Samuel Yung Wing-ki

Chairman, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on

Chairman, Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, Mr Lester Garson Huang

Chairman, University Grants Committee, Mr Carlson Tong

Chairman, Vocational Training Council, Dr Roy Chung Chi-ping


Non-official members


Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau

Dr Fung Wai-wah

Ms Nancy Ho Lan-sang

Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming

Mr Joseph Luc Ngai

Dr Halina Poon Suk-han

Ms Shum Siu-fong

Mr So Ping-fai

Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai

Mr Wong Kam-leung

Mr Dieter Yih Lai-tak


Ends/Friday, June 28, 2019

Issued at HKT 15:00