The Government today (December 28) announced the appointment of three members to the Education Commission (EC).


The newly appointed member is the Chairman of the Subsidised Primary Schools Council, Mr So Ping-fai, who is appointed for a one-year term. Two incumbent members, Dr Halina Poon Suk-han and Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai, have been re-appointed for a two-year term.


The three members have been appointed in their personal capacity with effect from January 1, 2019.


An Education Bureau spokesman said, “Given their rich experience in the education and professional sectors, we are confident that the three members will provide valuable advice and contribute to the work of the EC.”


The new EC membership list, effective from January 1, 2019, is as follows:




Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung


Ex-officio members


Permanent Secretary for Education, Mrs Ingrid Yeung Ho Poi-yan

Chairman, Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals, Dr Carrie Willis Yau Sheung-mui

Chairman, Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education, Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung

Chairman, Curriculum Development Council, Professor Tam Kar-yan

Chairman, Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council, Dr Samuel Yung Wing-ki

Chairman, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on

Chairman, Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, Mr Lester Garson Huang

Chairman, University Grants Committee, Mr Carlson Tong

Chairman, Vocational Training Council, Dr Roy Chung Chi-ping


Non-official members


Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau

Dr Fung Wai-wah

Ms Nancy Ho Lan-sang

Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming

Dr Halina Poon Suk-han

Ms Shum Siu-fong

Mr So Ping-fai

Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai

Mr Wong Kam-leung

Dr Odalia Wong Ming-hung

Mr Dieter Yih Lai-tak


Ends/Friday, December 28, 2018

Issued at HKT 15:00